Talk

Advanced search

Long and moany, but I hate my job.

(13 Posts)
AgentProvocateur Fri 05-Nov-10 15:03:18

I realise that I'm lucky to have a job etc etc, but I really need some advice with a dilemma that's making me miserable.

I have a job, which, on paper, is enviable. I work 2.5 days, the pay is OK, and I can more or less choose my own hours.

But I have been doing the same thing for four years, and I am bored to tears. There is nowhere else in the organisation for me to go, and ny job has no prospect of changing. (It's quite unique, so I can't say here what it is I do).

The way the organisation works is really old-fashioned, and we work in a horrible building where nothing works properly, and there is no natural daylight. I have nothing in common with the person I share a room with, and she's a real moaner and is bringing me down further. I can spend the whole 2.5 days not talking to another soul.

I have been looking for other jobs, and have had interviews, but the feedback is that I'm not talking about my achievements enough.

The thing is that I'm so bored and demoralised at work, that it's now spilling into my personal life. I can't be bothered doing anything with my leisure time, because I'm constantly dreading going back into the office.

I took this job when funding ran out for my previous role, and I knew from day 1 that it felt wrong.

I'm sorry to moan, but I feel like I've wasted four years, and I'm scared I never get another job. I can't see the wood for the trees. I need some career advice, but I don't know where to start.

nikos Fri 05-Nov-10 15:51:55

You have my sympathies as am in same boat. What I have done is isolated where I want to work and what I want to do and am volunteering in that organisation. It does make the boring job even more boring!!! but at least i feel I have a get out plan. HTH

TondelayoSchwarzkopf Fri 05-Nov-10 15:59:21