Talk

Advanced search

Considering Granny Annexe

(12 Posts)
newcat12345 Fri 26-Apr-19 18:45:12

Thanks Mont. taking things very slowly and getting professional guidance

MontStMichel Fri 26-Apr-19 08:52:43

I suggest you get legal advice on the granny annex and deprivation of assets question - Iirc, there is a legal solution to it, but I am not a lawyer.

newcat12345 Tue 16-Apr-19 10:27:45

When I say deteriorating- it's majjnly the worsening of athritis and associated symptoms, which makes her much less mobile or able to properly manage her home.
Being much less mobile is causing isolation and affecting her mental health.

Building something here for her seems to tick so many boxes but am acutely aware of the advice being given here

MereDintofPandiculation Tue 16-Apr-19 09:51:51

I also take on any care she needs; although if more is needed she still has some capital left to pay for it with. Don't be too ambitious. You will by default be the decision maker and the manager who keeps all the pieces together. You will also by the on-call person, on duty 24/7. That's a big enough job without taking on the caring role as well.

You also need space for just being a daughter, having time just to chat.

Quicker than building an annex (which couldn't be started until she has sold and moved out) would be to sell hers and find somewhere small and close to you, house prices in your area permitting. But again it might only be for months.

FellaGoneRogue Mon 15-Apr-19 19:21:45

In reality if she's deteriorating this quickly it's unlikely you will get PP, architects and the actual build done in time for it to be worth the upheaval.

We did the same as you except we sold our house and used the equity to build the annexe (cost around £100k) at mums, we then transferred the house into joint names.

hatgirl Fri 29-Mar-19 21:15:58

Yes that's fine

potofdreams1 Fri 29-Mar-19 14:38:17

Thank you.
@hatgirl would you mind in I PM'd you?

Meet0nTheledge Thu 28-Mar-19 21:19:36