Talk

Advanced search
Affected by Dementia? We have a new Talk topic specifically for Dementia, please do pop over and take a look

Visit the Dementia Talk topic

Elderly parents - what to do? Advice please.

(10 Posts)
TopBirder14 Mon 20-Jan-14 22:36:22

I'm new to this so I would be grateful for any advice. Here's my story.

I'm a middle-aged only child with parents in their 80s living 70 miles away (approx 2.5 to 3 hour round trip). Dad is confined to a wheelchair after a stroke several years ago and has ongoing health problems - chest/urine infections, up-and-down blood pressure and depression. Mum looks after him at home with carers going in three times a day. They live in a village with help from lots of friends and my dad's family nearby. I visit for a full day once a week.

My mum doesn't really cope well emotionally and as soon as there is any sort of problem with my dad, rings me straight away wanting reassurance - often almost as soon as I have got back home. Latest problem today was a home visit from GP after a reoccurrence of a chest infection but often it's something comparatively minor. Nothing I can do except worry about them - I can't visit until Friday because of work.

I feel so isolated. I live on my own and don't have a partner or children or anyone I can talk things through with. I am thinking "Should I consider trying to find a job near them and perhaps renting a place? Then I could visit more often. Or am I making a rod for my own back?" Thanks.

MillyMollyMama Tue 21-Jan-14 00:12:37