Talk

Advanced search

Primary Schools in Lambeth/Stockwell - London

(6 Posts)
mandykersh Tue 06-Oct-09 13:40:29

Hi everyone,

I am new to Mumsnet. I have 2 boys, one is 28 months old and the other is just 4 months old.

We have recently moved to the Lambeth/Stockwell area of London, and I've started looking into local Primary schools for my eldest to attend in a years time.

Does anyone have any recommendations? I dont know the area at all.

Thanks
Mandy

cherryblossoms Tue 06-Oct-09 14:09:30

Whereabouts in Stockwell/Lambeth are you? Are you within a stone's throw of Sudbourne Primary? I seem to remember that being the no. 1 people's choice ... .

mandykersh Tue 06-Oct-09 15:01:51

Hi, and thanks for your message.

I've checked out Sudbourne School online and it looks great - thanks!

It is a bit of a distance from us (we're more towards Vauxhall) but if it means he gets good education then I dont mind.

Do you perhaps know if it is a state or private primary? I cant seem to find this information out online.

mimsum Tue 06-Oct-09 15:09:26

Sudbourne is state and unless you live on the doorstep you don't stand a cat in hell's chance of getting your son in - sorry ....

other primaries in Lambeth pretty variable

Needmoresleep Wed 07-Oct-09 16:09:15

It is worth doing your homework. It is not the greatest area for schools, primary or secondary, though some are preferred over others. (Durand - though lots of controversy about the head - Rhea, though again some controversy in the past, and Ashmole are all schools which wax and wane in popularity.)