Talk

Advanced search

Has anyone done a course ith the OU?

(11 Posts)
TitsalinaBumsquash Fri 25-Sep-09 20:08:35

Im looking at my options now my children are at school, i have no qualifications or GCSEs or anything at the moment, luckily enough im not in a position where i need to work.

I do however defiatly want to do some more studying for myself mainly but also i do want to work eventually to so if it were to help me in any future jobs it would be a bonus.

I am looking at the Open University, starting with a beginner course and workig up, i am just wondering if anyone had done a course with them and how they found the whole process.

I don't know what to do though, im torn between Philosophy, Psycology and Health and Social care!

I have no idea what work i would like to eventually get into, i used to be a Chef but i definatley don't want to do that again but i find the above subjects very interesting.

TitsalinaBumsquash Fri 25-Sep-09 20:10:26

Just seen they have a Literature and Creative Writing course, i am so torn! Argh!

TheFallenMadonna Fri 25-Sep-09 20:11:18

I did Psychology. It was really,really fab and I loved it. I started with level 2 because I already had a degree, but met lots of people who started with an openings course and then moed on to level 1 and up.

Habbibu Fri 25-Sep-09 20:13:12

I've just done Introduction to Health Sciences, which was brilliant. I'm very impressed with the OU - very organised, very clear, great materials. But it's no easy ride - you do have to make sure you set aside time to do it. They have lots of introductory courses so that you can see how well it suits you before you commit to paying more for a longer course.

I'd heartily recommend them - am signing up for my next one soon.

TitsalinaBumsquash Fri 25-Sep-09 20:16:28

I haven't been in education since i left highschool just before my GCSEs but im pretty inteligent (even if i do say so myself)