Talk

Advanced search

Homework

(17 Posts)
Tavvy Wed 09-Sep-09 14:21:38

Just interested in opinions on this.
When I worked in a school and homework was set it was a way of the teacher seeing how much or how little the child had understood the work being done in school (numeracy and literacy) If the child struggled we encouraged parents to put a note on the top explaining this and the child would be given time the next day to see where the problems were and work on them with the child.
I find it quite appalling that now I'm expected to do the childs homework for them in my job. They might get good marks but it is misleading as the teacher will have no idea whether they understand or not and also I have an issue with this as I know from experience parents getting too involved in homework offering 'help' can often confuse the issue even more as the terminology and methods they were taught is not necessarily what the child is taught.
I really don't think I am doing these kids a favour colluding with this nonsense but it seems this is what happens and I am considered neglectful because I refuse. I'm more than happy to support them and point them in the right direction but I refuse to stand over them like a fire breathing dragon doing it for them so the get it 'right'
Any opinions. Feel free to slate me if you want. I come from an educational background not a parenting one. It just seems to me that tjis way has no benefit for the child

mumblechum Wed 09-Sep-09 14:31:15

I agree that it's up to the child to do the work, not the parent and was always a bit hmm about some of the parents in the playground talking about how they'd essentially done the child's work for them.

If they're stuck on something specific and you can easily help them out, eg how to spell a word, then fine but if even that becomes too frequent I'd be inclined to tell them to look it up in a dictionary.