Talk

Advanced search

Cut off date for entry into Scottish school systems?

(4 Posts)
JoInScotland Tue 01-Sep-09 00:50:00

Hello,

I'm new to Mumsnet but have lived in Scotland for 12 years, lived in England before that and am originally from the States.

I hear that it's unfortunate for a child to be born in the summer (in England) since the cut-off date for entry into Primary 1 is usually September 1. Is there a similar cut-off date for Scotland, set in stone? Although I've been here for a long time, I don't know how the school systems work (in a detailed way).

I'm pregnant with my first child, due in January 2010, but I just wondered, how it may affect any subsequent children we have...

M1SSUNDERSTOOD Tue 01-Sep-09 07:41:13

Hi welcome. In Scotland the cutoff date for a child starting school is the for children who turn 5 before February 28th in the academic year. Effectively this means when your dc is 4 in 2014 they can enrol.however with january and February birthdays there is option to defer for a year when dc go to school whenthey are 5 and a half. Any subsequent dc born on or after 1st march would go to school in the academic year they turn 5. HTH.

M1SSUNDERSTOOD Tue 01-Sep-09 07:46:33

To clarify I meant the term before dc turn 5 with January and February birthdays so will be youngest in class if they go to school at 4 and a half in august 2014.they would be oldest if they went a year later in august 2015 when they are 5 and a half.

AMumInScotland Tue 01-Sep-09 09:41:42

Birthday from March through till August - they start in August after they turn 5

Birthday from September through till December - they can either start in August before they are 5, or wait till the following year. But if you decide to defer, you won't get a funded preschool place for the extra year.

Birthday in January or February - they can start in August before they are 5 or wait till the following year. You will (almost certainly) get a funded preschool place for the extra year.