Talk

Advanced search

Kip McGrath Education centres, anyone use them?

(10 Posts)
Linnet Sat 06-Jun-09 21:23:19

My dd1 is really really struggling with maths. I'm now at the stage where I think she needs to get some tutoring, in fact to be honest I think she should have been getting some long before now. There is a Kip Mcgrath centre close by and I was wondering, before contacting them, if anyone has any experience of them and if they would recommend them?

Also does anyone know how much they charge as their website doesn't seem to say, or at least I can't find it on there.

Thanks

cornsilk Sat 06-Jun-09 21:25:17

I used them for Literacy for my ds - I thought they were good. Was about £28 for an hour and a half but the tutor was shared between 4 children.

MaryBS Sat 06-Jun-09 21:31:06

£28 EACH CHILD???? Or between the 4?

cornsilk Sat 06-Jun-09 21:33:24

Each child!

MaryBS Sat 06-Jun-09 21:35:22

Ouch! Maybe I should do that for a job... I have a degree in maths, and used to informally tutor younger students when I was in the 6th form...

cornsilk Sat 06-Jun-09 21:36:18

There's a big gap in the market for dyscalculia tutoring.

magentadreamer Sat 06-Jun-09 22:02:36

I'd not hesitate in recommending my local Kip McGrath to anyone, DD's confidence in Maths is amazing now thanks to the sessions she had. Think I paid £23 a session. I actually thought it would be better for DD to go to a centre with others as one to one might have been a bit too intense for her.

Linnet Sat 06-Jun-09 22:19:52

Thank you all, that is really encouraging. I'm going to go and apply for the free consultation and hopefully we'll hear from them soon.