Does anyone have views on the Hall School, North London? Comments from current

(18 Posts)
watchthisspace Tue 26-May-09 09:48:42

parents would be helpful as we are trying to decide if this is a school for our DS. Many thanks

watchthisspace Mon 01-Jun-09 09:08:08

bump

ReneRusso Thu 04-Jun-09 21:21:53

i don't have children there, but i know a few people who do and they all rave about it. I get the impression its quite high achieving and pushy, but also with quite a caring/nurturing atmosphere as well. I can quote you the GSG entry if you're interested, as I have an online subscription.

watchthisspace Fri 05-Jun-09 10:55:53

Thanks Rene. I had heard similar accounts regarding the pushiness but didn't know if they also accomodate quieter more sensitive boys.

DeBeauvoir Tue 07-Feb-12 03:56:58

Some parents love it. Very traditional, great academics, big feeder for Westminster. But be prepared - you will be buying into the Hampstead scene; 4x4s, investment banker parents, mothers with face-lifts, etc.

EverybodysSnowyEyed Tue 21-Feb-12 22:20:16

My son went for the assessment and didn't get in. The assessment was the most rigourous - they scored everything. The rejection letter was quite unnecessary in its content.

He is in a school that suits him much better so for the best.

What I have heard;
They rank the boys from a young age
Most parents are very pushy behind the scenes.

They do have good facilities and good results.

Best way is to go to the assessment and see how you feel about it. If he doesn't get in, don't despair - there are plenty of schools in the area!!

Good luck!

Turniphead1 Wed 22-Feb-12 12:42:45

Everybody - do you mind my asking what kind of things were in the rejection letter? I assume we are talking about 3 year olds here?

EverybodysSnowyEyed Wed 22-Feb-12 12:48:34

Yes

I can't remember the exact wording but it basically implied his life chances had been weakened by not going to their school and having to go to another school.