Talk

Advanced search

OMG OMG OMG OMG!!!! I've got a job interview..........

(40 Posts)
exasperatedmummy Fri 17-Oct-08 20:45:41

So i am pretty much panicing really.

It is for a part time science lecturer at the local college. Ive done nothing since i finished my Phd, oh apart from the small thing of looking after DD grin.

They want me to put together a presentation, to last ten minutes. I have to choose a subject and present it as if it were a class. I have to present a lesson plan too.

Can anyone give me any pointers?
Are there any websites that have lessons on there? I will have to aim this at about GCSE-A level biology and i am RUSTY!
What would be a good thing to cover in ten minutes

MartianBishop are you there?

I am a namechager BTW - im lucyellensmum, getting off my arse and trying to get a job.

NutterlyUts Fri 17-Oct-08 20:53:52

Practise your presentation so you sound interested and enjoy your subject .. a lecturer who just reads and doesn't bring a subject to life is horrid.

What about picking something that you can get the class involved in?

phdlife Fri 17-Oct-08 20:55:25

oh well done you <<round of applause>>

ditto what nutterly said - look like you are having fun, and if you can come up with a good (short, uncomplicated, eye-opening) exercise to do with them that should go down well.

MrsJamin Fri 17-Oct-08 20:58:30

a tip would be don't use powerpoint, just think about something you can talk freely about perhaps with a few objects to keep you focussed. it's just too easy to hide behind powerpoint and it's used so much in education it can get v boring. maybe something from your phd would be interesting, so they can learn a bit more about you at the same time?

Blandmum Fri 17-Oct-08 20:58:39

hello!

Can I help!? smile

when I had to do this, I did cystic fibrosis

It is on both the GCSE and A level sylabus