Talk

Advanced search

Do you need a 1st class honours degree to do PGCE in Science?

(27 Posts)
lilymolly Sat 16-Aug-08 09:28:28

Recently applied to OU for info on PGCE and was informed that if you want to do science your degree must be a 1st shock

For all other topics a degree of any standard would be acceptable.

As my degree is a 2.2 in Biology I obv need to do the science PGCE but dont have a 1st.

Can anyone advice if this is the norm within other universitys especially ones in the North East; Sunderland, Durham etc

TIA

Katisha Sat 16-Aug-08 09:29:22

Well if it's true it's hardly surprising we are short of science teachers...

Habbibu Sat 16-Aug-08 09:30:09

Would be very surprised, given that they're desperate for more science teachers!

Slouchy Sat 16-Aug-08 09:30:55

I am amazed at this TBH; Science is a shortage subject and they are desperate for Sci teachers. To the extent that you would get a ££ golden hello when you start.

I should look elsewhere if I were you, see what their requirements are.

RubberDuck Sat 16-Aug-08 09:30:57

I doubt it - I got onto a Science PGCE with a 3rd in Astrophysics.

SqueakyPop Sat 16-Aug-08 09:31:09

You can have any degree. 1st to 3rd, and ISTR that pass degrees were OK too.

A 2.2 is fine and in teaching is a 'good honours degree'.

I suspect it may be a case of supply and demand for the course.

RubberDuck Sat 16-Aug-08 09:31:09

(not with the OU, mind)

wessexgirl Sat 16-Aug-08 09:31:25

Surely that can't be right. For a PhD, yes, but for a PGCE that seems insane.

There are few enough applicants for Science PGCEs as it is, without narrowing the field even further.

Habbibu Sat 16-Aug-08 09:31:38

Durham doesn't say anything about grade...

lilymolly Sat 16-Aug-08 09:31:55

Thats what I thought

I mean how many people have 1sts in science and then go on to become a teacher?

Habbibu Sat 16-Aug-08 09:32:49

Newcastle say at least 2.2 Just google pgce plus university name plus science.