Talk

Advanced search

School closures next week - how are you going to manage?

(50 Posts)
daffodill6 Wed 09-Jul-08 23:30:37

I work part time and have to manage things finely as it is top pick DD up from school. Just wondering how others will cope next week?

pinkteddy Wed 09-Jul-08 23:33:00

haven't been told that dd's school will close (yet?). I also work in a school and haven't heard about that either!

daffodill6 Wed 09-Jul-08 23:39:02

Had to sign and return a form this morning acknowledging understanding of closure . Obviously could be different where u are . I'm talking e mids

gigglewitch Wed 09-Jul-08 23:43:12

we have got a letter today to say that the infant department is closed both weds and thurs hmm but the junior dept is open [wtf?]
Back to persuading grandmothers, i think - as have booked all my remaining hols out to cover the remainder of the 6 wks which is like a major military operation with three dc grin

MrsGuyOfGisbourne Thu 10-Jul-08 08:48:22

?????? had not heard about this?????
Our school term ends next Fri - so if school is closed can't see man people turning up for the last day, which is a half day...
GW, are you also E midlands?
Will ask at our school today...

bozza Thu 10-Jul-08 08:56:59

It is a major PITA. So it is a case of off Weds and Thurs, back in Fri and Mon (except we are off to Spain on Sat) and then off until 2 Sept. I have 5 weeks of the holiday without childcare - everything happening at once, DD leaving day nursery, starting school nursery, childminder on holiday, me being TUPE'd to new company on 1 Aug etc.

DH seems to think that he can take 1 day off, and work at home one day. I had thought about working Friday (I do Tues-Thurs) but I have arranged for DD to leave her day nursery on Thursday, and we go on holiday early on Saturday morning. Can't work Monday because that is sports day.

bozza Thu 10-Jul-08 09:00:13

Unison (so support staff) are on strike. It's not the teachers.

whitetulips Thu 10-Jul-08 19:34:50