Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Is it worth it?

(20 Posts)
hercules Tue 18-Jan-05 21:02:43

I am in my 4th year of teaching in a fairly tough school and I can barely remember thelast time I was really able to teach. It's all classroom management and as I'm parttime I have mainly low ability classes.
I always thought I would never consider the private sector but I don't enjoy my job anymore and yearn for a different type of challenge.

Any thoughts?

nailpolish Tue 18-Jan-05 21:05:19

hercules im a nurse and always believed in the nhs. for several reasons 2 yrs ago i changed jobs and now work for the private sector, have never looked back

i know its not the same, but sort of (?)

hercules Tue 18-Jan-05 21:06:09

I think probably quite similar. thanks for reply.

happymerryberries Tue 18-Jan-05 21:16:54

Sympathy, sympathy. I'm reasonably lucky this year and I only have one awful class, and one poor class behaviour wise.

It gets you down doesn't it? The daft thing is that these are the kids who need most help and support and their behaviour means that they can't get it, because you spend all your time trying to get them to behave.

I know that there are some great parents who's kids go off the rails, but most of the kids like this that I teach either have parents who don't give a damn or who believe that their kids can do no wrong and fail to support the school. You feel like tearing your hair out, don't you?

hercules Tue 18-Jan-05 21:19:32

I have phoned home, sent letters, parents evenings etc. I have found no affect from phoning home, no response from letters sent home and parents not turning up for parents evening. Those who do respond say there's nothing they csn do.

janeybops Tue 18-Jan-05 21:20:42

Oh sounds so familiar!

And I can see why you might think that! However, I have taught in both rough and 'nice ' schools/areas. They have their own problems too. They were state schools so not sure if private would be different.