Talk

Advanced search

Squirrels Wimbledon vs Donhead

(7 Posts)
Martha2015 Sun 11-Feb-18 14:01:48

Hi, I am a newbie here and really would appreciate your input.

Recently my DS got an offer at both places and I would like him, if possible, prepare him to King's College Junior school.

I would like to hear from mums from both schools and any advice you may have.

Is squirrels only about learning and pushing to be best? My son is bright and loves getting to know new things but at the same time he is also loves playing (he just turned 3...!) and he is a fragile soul, needs a cuddle and reassurance sometimes so ideally I am looking for nurturing environment for him. I also read that they were some concerns about squirrels in recent years and they went through some changes...

I am really stressed and we have only few days left to make a decision.

Many thanks in advance for any replies/advices.

giardiniera Sun 11-Feb-18 16:24:09

Squirrels is great. If you think your son is in with a good shot for Kings then it's a no brainer. The changes you are talking about are years ago now, once the school came under Kings ownership, and it is a totally different place. There are plenty of other clubs and activities (the head of sports is just fantastic). Boys go onto a range of schools.
If you choose Donhead a handful do sit 7+ successfully but not many get in and you must also be prepared to do the prep yourself at home as the school won't do it for you.

Martha2015 Sun 11-Feb-18 16:34:29

Thank You for Your reply, really appreciate that. It is so difficult to say, he is only 3 (literatully turned 3 yesterday).
I am just worried that he will go to squirrels and then what if he fails the exams to Kings? Where do They go to?

carinwashingmachine Sun 11-Feb-18 19:09:12

Have you checked the leavers destinations on the school's website OP? The school publishes a comprehensive list. It seems Shrewbury House is a popular destination alongside a number of other schools.