Talk

Advanced search

family size and educational attainment

(11 Posts)
sb2184x Wed 07-Feb-18 18:57:50

www.smartsurvey.co.uk/s/ULLNB/

I am a third year undergraduate student at the University of Greenwich, studying Sociology and Psychology BSc. This questionnaire has been developed to aid my dissertation research into family size and educational attainment. This questionnaire consists of 17 questions and will take no longer than 15 minutes to complete. By completing this questionnaire, you are consenting for your responses to be used by myself in my research. All responses are anonymous, and no respondents will be identifiable in the research.

GiveMePrivacy Thu 08-Feb-18 00:17:11

Interesting topic! Can I suggest a small edit to one of your questions? One question asks what type of school was attended - Public or Private. But that is US terminology ; in the UK, a "Public" school means an exclusive independent (private) school - historically, one which had a public charter, ie the oldest, poshest sort of private school. So, Tony Blair and Prince Charles and David Cameron all went to public schools. Nowadays it is generally used to refer to the independent schools in the HMC/GDST groups.
The terms you need, really, are 'State school' and 'Private school'.
Good luck!

EllenJanethickerknickers Thu 08-Feb-18 00:22:20

I've completed it. Your questions seem aimed at under 40s. The computer question isn't relevant for anyone over 40 and some of us took O Levels not GCSEs.

GrockleBocs Thu 08-Feb-18 00:37:04

I'm 47 and did O levels and we did have a computer at home Ellen. People did have Spectrums or BBCs. It wasn't the norm but it wasn't unheard of smile

EllenJanethickerknickers Thu 08-Feb-18 00:47:34

True I suppose. My ExH was a computer programmer at by 1986 but we didn't have a computer at home until 1999!

GiveMePrivacy Thu 08-Feb-18 00:58:33

I had a ZX Spectrum, but you could never have done your homework on one of those grin Aah, nostalgic now!