Talk

Advanced search

New head's old school now "needs immediate improvement " - cause for concern?

(12 Posts)
lbsjob87 Wed 04-Jan-17 21:35:48

My DD is in Yr 3 at a local school. In July, the old head retired and a new one started in September.
She seems very nice and has made some small changes that I think work - arrangements for pick up, new after school activities etc, nothing radical.
Today, a quite slating report has appeared saying that her old school nearby has dropped from a Good OFSTED to "Needing Immediate Improvement". The inspection was in November so the new head had been there a couple of months, and said that she was working hard to improve in areas that need it.
The old head (new head at DDs school) was there for about 8 years and the previous report was good with elements of excellent, but obviously something has changed in between.

I work in education and know that Ofsted reports can vary, but I wondered if anyone would be remotely worried by this development, or just stick with your gut instinct that if your child is happy, it's the right school for her?

If so, are there any questions or issues you would raise at parents evening, for example?

admission Thu 05-Jan-17 15:02:31

You do need to go with your gut feeling to a great extent here. If the new head teacher has made some small but sensible changes, that you agree with then that sounds good.
However the head teacher's previous school does seem to have come down in capability according to the Ofsted report and that did not happen in the two months that your new head has not been in the school. So they do have a level of responsibility for where that school now is.
Should you be worried? I would go with your positive gut feelings and give the head teacher the benefit of the doubt. However if they start altering all sorts of other things then that might be the time to start wondering more about the situation.