Talk

Advanced search

Flipping 'book sharing' afternoon!

(11 Posts)
Northernlurker Tue 06-Dec-16 16:50:46

Dd3's school does a book sharing afternoon about once a term. Parents can come 1/2 hour early and look at the kids work with them. Obviously this is something of a pita for working parents but as I work five mins from school and can be flexible I had said I would go today and told dd.
I am a NHS manager, it's very busy and quite pressured. Not that that is an excuse for today when I simply forgot to go. Remembered as I was cycling yo school at the usual time. Dd was terribly sweet about it and we went straight back in where her teacher (who could see I was upset) let us look at her books then. Dd has been ever so sweet about it but I know she will have been looking for me. I am furious with myself but also actually I feel increasingly annoyed with school for putting up yet another fence for us working parents to fall arse over head over.

Do lots of schools do this? Us it well attended? Dd said only two parents cMe to her class.

Trifleorbust Tue 06-Dec-16 17:16:47

I don't get why you are annoyed.

Northernlurker Tue 06-Dec-16 17:26:24

I'm more furious with myself for forgetting but I do really wonder what value it has for the kids. Most parents can't go. Last time I went there were only a couple there too. It just gives me something to beat myself up about and that makes me cross because I don't believe working parents should feel guilty but now I do and it's my fault. If school had never proposed the thing then I wouldn't have anything to feel crap over iyswim. Just wondering if it's a common thing.

Trifleorbust Tue 06-Dec-16 17:29:53

Hmm. I don't know, but I don't think you can blame schools for giving parents the chance to come in if they want to. Unless they put pressure on you to turn up, that is.

PatriciaHolm Tue 06-Dec-16 17:33:15