Talk

Advanced search

What do you look for in a school report?

(30 Posts)
blushc Fri 04-Jun-04 17:25:43

Hi, I'm a Year One teacher currently writing reports. I was just wondering how you feel about them. Which aspects matter to you most and which least? Has a teacher ever written anything you loved or something you hated? How do you feel about grades, test results, information about subject learning and personal comments? Do you like a formal or informal, personal style? Any opinions or anecdotes would be interesting!

Tinker Fri 04-Jun-04 17:37:36

Helps if you can find something individual to say for each child. Sounds obvious but when comparing my daughter's with her classmates last year (via the mothers) they all had the same comment for science! Don't mind whether it is formal or informal as long as it captures the essence of teh child - which must be hard to do in a class of 30. Having said that, when my dad died, I found an old school report of his from the 1930's. It described him as 'an obedient and dutiful boy'. Made me cry

Goingcrazy Fri 04-Jun-04 18:04:16

I like a school report to show that the teacher really knows my child (good and bad points!) so I suppose I prefer a more informal approach. In KS1 I understand that in subjects like science, geography, RE etc (which are not done in great depth), it is difficult and time consuming to write something individual for each child. I'm quite happy to just know that they have covered the curriculum and are or are not doing OK. The main thing at Year 1 level that I want to know is their social development - how they behave in class, do they contribute to class discussions, are they helpful, are they forming friendships with other children etc. Hope this helps and good luck with writing 30 reports!

jampot Fri 04-Jun-04 18:09:25