Standardised tests

(14 Posts)
Arewenearlythereyetmum Sat 27-Feb-16 22:35:28

My DD has just had SS test at school.She is 8 and this is her first year at prep school.The results were 131 for English and 130 for Maths,it says national average is 100.I am new to these tests and wondered how good they are.I would kind of like to know before I ask at school.Has anyone done this tests ?

Clonakiltylil Sat 27-Feb-16 23:17:20

Hello. These seem to be CATs tests which are done several times commencing in Year 3 or 4, I think. The scores go up to 146, as I recall, so 130 is high. They are done in order for the school to ensure that she makes progress against the baseline data - everything is data driven now. In secondary they are taken in years 7, 10 and 12.

Balletgirlmum Sat 27-Feb-16 23:27:17

What tests are they?

Many independent schools use CEM/Durham tests (incas/Midyis/yell is etc)

For incas (primary age) the average is 100 but there is a plus/minus 15 margin. A score of more than 115 indicates above average. A score of more than 130 is exceptional.

Arewenearlythereyetmum Sat 27-Feb-16 23:34:19

Yes thank you, that's what they were called.My DD said she found it easy but as it was her first time I wasn't sure what to expect or what the school expected.

Balletgirlmum Sat 27-Feb-16 23:51:32

Incas are computerised & to start with you get given questions below the expected age level so they are achievable. Then the difficulty increases depending on the child's answers.

Arewenearlythereyetmum Sun 28-Feb-16 00:00:19

So I guess it is hard for a child to know how they think they have done.She was very vague and just said it was maths and patterns etc.

Arewenearlythereyetmum Sun 28-Feb-16 12:04:13