Talk

Advanced search

Python help please!

(7 Posts)
irvine101 Fri 25-Dec-15 17:04:40

Merry Christmas every one! fsmile (DH is cooking, and I'm having a quiet moment!)

I'm not good at computing. Sorry for silly question.
I was completely lost with difference between python2 and python3.
What's the difference?
It's only because the course I want to do is on python2, and python3 doesn't seem to work the same way. Do I need to get python2 as well?
I thought later version must be better, is it not?

irvine101 Fri 25-Dec-15 18:54:55

For the record, it's not actually for me, I'm only testing this for my ds.

prh47bridge Sun 27-Dec-15 01:11:18

Python 3 is the current version. Unusually for a computer language it is intentionally not backwards compatible, so code written for Python 2 may not work in Python 3. A lot of things haven't changed but the language has been tidied up considerably.

If the course is on Python 2 I would recommend sticking to Python 2 for the moment. Due to some of the changes that have been made it is very difficult to write code that runs on both Python 2 and Python 3.

irvine101 Sun 27-Dec-15 10:18:34

Thank you, prh47bridge, that makes sense.
My ds is learning Python for first time. Is it worth doing this course, or should I find other course for Python3?

irvine101 Sun 27-Dec-15 10:34:00

Only reason I choose this course was because objective was to write simple factorial programme and Fibonacci programme, which is right up to ds's interest, but wondering introducing 2 instead of 3 might be confusing if he wants to learn further later on?

prh47bridge Mon 28-Dec-15 00:47:06

Python 2 is still far more common in real world usage than Python 3. Indeed, over 1 in 5 Python developers think 3 is a mistake. I would start him on 2. If he ever needs to use 3 he should find it easy to learn at a later stage.

irvine101 Mon 28-Dec-15 07:21:18

Thank you prh47bridge. I'm really glad I asked the question now!!

Join the discussion

Join the discussion