Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

medical school

(9 Posts)
Shakerlackerboomboom Sat 24-Oct-15 10:25:06

Hello I'm a student nurse in my second year and I've really decided that I want to study medicine and become a GP but I'm wondering how I go about this as it doesn't seem to be much literature on the subject and I'm getting incredibly frustrated!
I'm also wondering if it's going to be possible as a single parent? 

yeOldeTrout Sat 24-Oct-15 15:30:20

I suspect you need to speak to careers advisor at a University & possibly some med school admissions tutors. Funding is the big problem, you're already on an NHS-funded course.

There's a desperate shortage of GPs, though, that part is in your favour smile.

Shakerlackerboomboom Sun 25-Oct-15 07:40:26

Thank you

Headofthehive55 Sun 25-Oct-15 07:46:33

There are graduate courses for medicine, four years. You need a degree plus need to do a special test called gmat I think test. It's very very competitive to get in.

brokenmouse Mon 26-Oct-15 21:51:33

What A-levels do you have? You'll need A/A* to include chemistry , ideally biology (though not always compulsory) and one other decent subject which doesn't have to be a science if you want to drop out of nursing and reapply. Otherwise it would be finish your nursing degree, get at least a 2:1 and then apply to the four year graduate courses. They are very competitive.

I'm a GP. I will be very unhappy if my kids do medicine. Most doctors I know think the same. My advice to you would be to graduate nursing then look at nurse practitioner or physician's assistant roles. Med school as a single parent will be hideous and as a junior doctor you move every 6 months and can be based anywhere in a Deanery area that may be hundreds of miles across. The S London rotation includes Brighton. Unless you have gold plated childcare I wouldn't do it.

Shakerlackerboomboom Tue 27-Oct-15 08:23:48

That's really insightful thank you

EYDavis Thu 29-Oct-15 03:10:54