Talk

Advanced search

how to get over of fear of driving on 'wrong' side of road?

(11 Posts)
unlucky83 Sun 12-Jul-15 18:16:05

I am a confident driver, have been driving for 25+ yrs (no accidents) used to live and drive in London, can motorway drive etc. If we go anywhere as a family I (not DP) drive. I can handle driving strange cars, used to drive a transit van (and still do on hire).
But if we go on holiday I am too scared to hire a car because of driving on the 'wrong side'...I just can't get my head around it - if someone else is driving on say a narrow road and a car is coming towards us I know my instinct would be to pull into the left -into the approaching car. (When someone pulls into the right it feels wrong -my head is screaming noooooo).
When we have hired a car before abroad DP has driven (he learned to drive in France but has lived in UK for 20 yrs). He doesn't mind but he is a terrible driver -lots of minor bumps, easily distracted, impatient, slightly reckless etc. Makes me a nervous wreck (why I drive in UK). Also he currently has points on his licence (for turning into a no entry side road to visit a friend cos it was a waste of time going all the way round - and he told the Police that shock why he got points rather than a slapped wrist!) and will break minor road rules eg turn right at a 'no right turn' if it is clear etc...because hmm (imagine Gaelic shrug here).
So how do I get over my fear? Can you practise anywhere in the Uk (guess you need other cars around for that)? A simulator? Any advice?
(Just been on holiday and would have liked to hire a car for a day or so but couldn't face DPs driving!)

chibi Sun 12-Jul-15 18:20:05

I think you would be ok. I grew up in a country which drives on the other side, and I am now learning here. I haven't had the urge to veer back onto the other side yet grin

Gemauve Sun 12-Jul-15 18:38:27