Talk

Advanced search

Dd year 10 has no confidence in maths. What books/online stuff can you recommend?

(24 Posts)
nattarji Thu 18-Jun-15 21:45:51

She panics in exams - she says she understands things but I suspect she doesn't. She got 20 percent in her recent exam - mainly trigonometry which she doesn't understand at all. Teacher is clearly not getting through to her so I need to step in over the holidays. Anything anyone can recommend - books, online stuff?

PurpleDaisies Thu 18-Jun-15 21:50:26

Can you afford a tutor? I'm a private tutor and often work with children like your daughter and one to one is brilliant for confidence building and sorting out problems.

nattarji Thu 18-Jun-15 21:52:36

I think we may have to.

nattarji Thu 18-Jun-15 21:53:00

How much are tutors??

PurpleDaisies Thu 18-Jun-15 21:56:59

It depends whereabouts in the country you are. Probably somewhere around £20-30 an hour. If you google local maths tutors they'll give you an idea.

If there are specific topics your daughter is stuck on she might not need loads of lessons to sort it out. Online and books are ok, but if she's totally stuck it might not be all that helpful.

castlesintheair Thu 18-Jun-15 22:00:48

I found the Galore Park books good. Some of the stuff is for younger years 13+ exams etc, but you may want to take her back to basics a bit so she really understands it. If you google them there are free worksheets. She can do them on her own as well. I found the Maths Revision Guide ISEB useful.

castlesintheair Thu 18-Jun-15 22:02:29

Also the BBC bitesize website are good for explanations / practice.

Whyjustwhy Thu 18-Jun-15 22:19:24

I would second the recommendation of a tutor. DDs confidence in her maths ability, and her results, have both rocketed since she started having a regular 1-2-1 tutor.

nattarji Thu 18-Jun-15 22:20:42

I'll talk to her school and see what they recommend. Is the end of year 10 too late???

PurpleDaisies Thu 18-Jun-15 22:23:16