Talk

Advanced search

Is there any evidence that learning Latin improves educational outcomes?

(136 Posts)
tethersend Wed 10-Jun-15 22:11:05

...Or is it a case of mistaking correlation for causation?

I've noticed a trend to include Latin on the curriculum amongst some academies and free schools- I wondered if there was a sound evidence base for doing so?

HerBigChance Wed 10-Jun-15 22:19:06

I hadn't heard about it being offered by academies, so can't comment on what their motivation might be, but I studied it at my bog-standard comp in the eighties.

It's very useful for gaining a bit of insight into other Romance languages as well understanding a bit more about the structure of English and cam paring the too. There was some cultural and literary stuff too. I really enjoyed it and got the O Level in it.

HerBigChance Wed 10-Jun-15 22:19:43

.... Comparing the two, obviously

titchy Wed 10-Jun-15 22:19:50

Yes - it makes them appear more like a grammar school and therefore more appealing to the middle classes, thereby keep their league table position with not too much effort. grin

AuditAngel Wed 10-Jun-15 22:21:35

DS starts secondary in September, RC VA school, he will be learning Latin.

jaws5 Wed 10-Jun-15 22:23:13

Well, it improves the educational outcome of.... Latin! �� I think schools probably want to tempt parents with a subject that connotes "quality education" as in a traditional subject offered by private schools. Personally, I consider it a valuable subject in its own right as many languages derive from it and it gives kids an etymological foundation for those languages, including English! I think it's worth doing, for the pure sake of learning.

TheFallenMadonna Wed 10-Jun-15 22:25:50

Middle class parents do love Latin, it's true...

JesseandCeline Wed 10-Jun-15 22:26:33

I have no idea whether it does or not. My younger self would have sworn it was pointless to the face of the oldies that said, "you'll see".