Advanced search

To move for sixthform or stay where she is?

(41 Posts)

MNHQ have commented on this thread.

YorkshireDayDreamer Wed 18-Feb-15 11:52:57

I'm new to mumsnet. But I'm looking for advice for my dd.

Basically my dd 16 goes to a boarding school however she was put back a year due to issues at previous schools. But her school have started preparing them for making choices now.
She is bright and is predicted all A*'s her school is a good school however some departments have poor quality teaching. She would like to stay as she has her friends and it has excellent pastoral care however she would like to go to an American university or a Russell group university. Career wise she was would like to do law then politics.
She is unsure about doing the IB or doing alevels. But my question is how do you decide if to stay or move?

YorkshireDayDreamer Wed 18-Feb-15 13:27:10

titchy Wed 18-Feb-15 14:21:24

You are sooo not a new poster - you were banned a year or so ago if I recall.

MaudeLebowski Wed 18-Feb-15 14:37:35

But my question is how do you decide if to stay or move?

You let your 16 year old daughter make the choice herself.

If that choice is viable with your finances and geography (and any other concerns) you support that choice.

YorkshireDayDreamer Wed 18-Feb-15 14:39:40

I am so a new poster I'm new to this website so im sorry if you've confused me with someone else but I only simply come here for advice. My dd only started Queen Ethelburgas a few months ago and she really dislikes part of the school but it's the fact that they do the IB that's making her want to stay

catslife Wed 18-Feb-15 14:59:34

It isn't usually a good idea to name your child's school OP, but as a new poster you may not be aware of that.
My child may move at sixth form, but that is because her current school doesn't offer her favourite / best subject at A level whereas another sixth form does....