Advanced search

If you are doing a Masters degree, what sort of marks are you getting?

(25 Posts)
TongueBiter Thu 05-Feb-15 07:55:12

I'm in my second year; got 54 and 61 last year, and 60 for my most recent assignment.

All Most of my cohort seem to be happy with getting over 50% (we are all in employment) but I was wondering what the average is at this level.

barrackobana Thu 05-Feb-15 09:04:14

Same as you. Second yr masters, last yr got between 67-70 in most assignments, lowest was 60% devastated. a number of people getting in the 70s and a friend of my seems to constantly get between 70-80%, she on track for a distinction and I'm seriously trying to catch up with her this yr

Whats the mark quota for a distinction at your university?

TongueBiter Thu 05-Feb-15 09:22:20

50-59 is a pass, 60-69 merit (I think!) and 70+ distinction.

I have never been so pleased to get a 61 though (but at the same time mortified at anything under 80%).

I don't think anyone on my course has got above 65% yet!

LadyofDunedin Thu 05-Feb-15 09:25:07

All these marks sound good to me! I also work F/T and doing masters and so far have got 60 (1st assignment), 65 (was really pleased with the improvement - hope I can get 70 next time!) .. Then I got a 55.. But everyone seemed to struggle / get marked considerably lower in this module!
Well done all grin

veiledsentiments Thu 05-Feb-15 09:26:09

I am second year. Had mid to high 60s in my assignments. Going all out for high 70s to hope to drag it up to a distinction. Am FT employed too.

TongueBiter Thu 05-Feb-15 09:32:31

Just found out a couple of people got 70 and low seventies on the latest assignment. I need to up my game ...

Off to read my feedback (does anyone else just look at the mark?!)

MrsCosmopilite Thu 05-Feb-15 09:36:38