Talk

Advanced search

From secondary to primary

(3 Posts)
emkana Fri 26-Mar-04 09:09:23

I used to be a secondary school teacher, before I had dd1 nearly three years ago. I am now thinking what to do about work, and I just can't bear to go back to my old job or something similar, especially full-time, which seems to be the only thing available. So I'm thinking about becoming a primary school teacher instead. Does anybody know what I have to do? Are there conversion courses? What about the fact that I have a (German) degree in German literature and history - not exactly relevant to the primary curriculum. Will that be a hindrance?
Any tips appreciated! Also, one reason I want to do this is that I think it's easier to get job-share or part-time work in primary. Is that true?

Hulababy Fri 26-Mar-04 09:17:38

There are conversion courses available. They twend to be in term time on week days though so can't really do them if you are working. They are not compulsory however and some schools may take you on without doing them. But you do need to provide evidence of knowing the up to date stuff ont he primary curriculum - literacy and numeracy hours, etc. and you need to have had some recent class room experience. I am not sure on your degree bit as don't know enough about the curriculum at primary.

BTW, I would not assume it is easier to get PT at primary. My friend has really struggled to get a job share or PT post. I think for timetabling it is often easier to get OT at secondary (seems less job share though IME, more straight forward PT).