Talk

Advanced search

Home Work?

(17 Posts)
sharry Mon 03-Nov-03 20:25:23

Do parents and teachers value the role of homework and parental involvement in their childs education?

CnR Tue 04-Nov-03 20:33:42

As a secondary school teacher I would say that generally the answer is yes IF the homework set is being done for a reason, and not just 'cos homework has to be set according to some policy. At secondary parental involvement in homework isn't really something I consider to be honest, although I do feel that parent's should be involved with knowing what their child is doing and what he/she should be doing - hence I like the idea of homework diaries which parents have to sign.

In general terms I think that parental involvement with education is very important and that schools and parents should work together as far as possible. Without that mutual cooperation education will just fall apart to no one's benefit.

popsycal Tue 04-Nov-03 20:35:08

I'll second that CnR

sharry Tue 04-Nov-03 22:23:05

How do you feel about homework for ks1 children?
There usually is a lot of parental guidance, with reading and games but do children now need this? They used to play out all day, when i was a child no one had mobiles, you could play-out all day! everyone was the same, we all drank water from a hosepipe and never got ill! We rode bikes in packs of 5 & 7, we always had coats on our heads, there was no national curriculum, SATS,SITS. We learnt to be creative, if board we often made a new games, we learnt how to get along with others! Times really have changed!

CnR Tue 04-Nov-03 22:27:39

I still think the parental involvemnt with school is important, in fact even more so at that age.

I don't see any problem with reading homwork for key stage 1, or maybe a little bit of numeracy to do with mummy or daddy's help so long as it is just a little bit in moderation, and again with a clear purpose.