Talk

Advanced search

how soon should i apply to schools for admission????

(16 Posts)
kasparkey Fri 05-Aug-11 14:20:59

Hi....
I have a 2yr old DD and we'll be moving to UK (Bishops Stortford, Herts.) in Sept/Oct. Ive heard and read a lot about how tough it is to get a place in your preferred school and I just want to ask if I should apply for a place for DD now, even though she'll start in 2013. Also is there a pre-school yr when they turn 3?
Im very new to the education system in UK so would appreciate all the help/advice you can give me!
Cheers.

AMumInScotland Fri 05-Aug-11 14:27:59

If you are looking at state schools, you don't need to start thinking about it for a while yet. Independent schools vary - some like you to register with them asap, others won't guarantee you a place even if you register, and will consider your application nearer the time.

exexpat Fri 05-Aug-11 14:32:48

You can't apply early for state primary schools - there is a fixed application procedure, and if your DD is due to start reception in September 2013, applications will need to be in sometime late 2012/early 2013 - precise deadlines depend on the local authority, but it will all be laid out very clearly in the school application pack or on their website.

The most important thing for getting a school place in an oversubscribed area is living as close as possible to your preferred school - the difference between getting and not getting a place can be as little as living a couple of metres further away from the school. Or religious attendance can be a factor if it is a church school you are interested in.

Some primary schools have attached nurseries, but that is usually a separate application system, and going to the nursery often doesn't give you any priority in getting a primary place at the same school. Most primary schools don't have nursery years, so people send their DCs to independent places and move for reception.

LIZS Fri 05-Aug-11 14:40:12