Talk

Advanced search

No School Place 7 weeks till terms starts

(26 Posts)
Zaffie Tue 19-Jul-11 13:23:35

Hi

I'm new to this and wondering if anyone can offer any advice. I moved in March and applied late for my twin?s school places. Resulted in no offer of any place I have been told every school is full and there is nothing they can offer them. Best they can do is add them to the waiting lists for my 6 preferred schools but they will be placed below all on time applications and stand very little chance of getting a place, positions range from 32-105. I sent off my appeal forms in June and have been told I will not get an appeal date until September as I missed cut off for appeals.

Wondering if anyone else has been in this situation of moving late and not having a school place? Do they have to offer them something before September?

Any advice would be greatly appriciated.

yellowsubmarine41 Tue 19-Jul-11 13:38:53

Someone who knows more than me will be along very soon, but I think the information about your applications being placed below all on time applications is inaccurate. I believe that once places are allocated, the waiting list is formed of everybody maintaining an interest in the school as per the allocation criteria ie usually looked after, SEN, siblings, distance etc.

You should be placed higher up the list than people who live further away, even if they applied on time, for example.

Although these are your preferred schools, are there nearer schools that you might have a better chance of? Maybe try phoning individual schools to see whether they have places, as LEA's can be a bit behind with info?

coccyx Tue 19-Jul-11 13:41:27

don't they have to offer you a place, even provide transport if a long way away. do you mean no places in your area or none at preferred schools

Bramshott Tue 19-Jul-11 13:49:47

From what other, very knowlegable posters have posted previously, there are 2 things wrong here: