Talk

Advanced search

Kumon maths

(17 Posts)
Becky99 Wed 13-Jul-11 19:33:10

i need advice please. My DS needs a bit of a boost with his numeracy, he's going into yr.3 in September. I want something simple to work on with him over the summer, not too intensive. Is Kumon a good idea? If so where to start?

seeker Wed 13-Jul-11 19:39:38

NO. boring, expensive and doesn't fit with the national curriculum. Why do you think he needs a boost? Could you ask the school for some work to do over the summer?

Becky99 Wed 13-Jul-11 19:55:17

His literacy is good but when it comes to maths he is hesitant & below NC standard. We've yet to get SATs results yet but he struggles and I want to help him. I'm an English teacher myself & don't want to side line Maths!

BrigitBigKnickers Thu 14-Jul-11 08:48:35

It's SOOOOOOOOOOOO BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOring.
If you want to put him off maths go right ahead.

There are loads of free resources on line that he might enjoy.

Try Topmarks and Primary Resources or Ict games

SenoritaViva Thu 14-Jul-11 08:50:59

Kumon Maths will give him great basics, yes it's boring but it does work and gives many more skills other than just Maths. It can be dull like the others have said and takes lots of discipline as you have to do it every day etc. However, it isn't right for you if you're looking for something over the summer as they have a longer term view.

SenoritaViva Thu 14-Jul-11 08:51:46

Sorry, don't think I was clear, what I mean is that if you want to see results you need to stick with it for at least a year and for long lasting results they say longer than that 2-3 years +.

fastweb Thu 14-Jul-11 08:56:21

Mathletics is brill. Would that work for you as an alternative ?

And not that expensive when you think about how much you have access to for the year.