Talk

Advanced search

Teaching Business Studies - any views?

(9 Posts)
GnomeDePlume Mon 03-Jan-11 22:32:02

I'm a qualified accountant and will shortly be made redundant. For the last few years I have been working in training. I'm thinking of making a career change into teaching Business Studies in the 14-19 age group.

Are there any Business Studies teachers here? How did you get into teaching? Would you recommend it?

lovecheese Tue 04-Jan-11 09:31:22

Is teaching your vocation?

GnomeDePlume Tue 04-Jan-11 13:14:02

lovecheese - I'm not sure how to define a vocation. I'm a training manager now and really enjoy that 'penny drop' moment when someone in a class says 'oh I see now'. I dont get so much classroom time now as my company has cut back on travel.

jinglebellssantasmells Tue 04-Jan-11 13:15:50

i will be following this thread i would also like to make the move into teaching business studies 14-19 age group

GnomeDePlume Tue 04-Jan-11 14:04:40

I have been looking at this:

www.tda.gov.uk/get-into-teaching/teacher-training- options/school-centred-training.aspx

This is apparently aimed at people who are perhaps a bit older (covers me then!).

happilyconfused Tue 04-Jan-11 21:27:28

Yes I did this. Made redundant in very late thirties. I followed the PGCE route and did not find it hard to get a post. After one year I was made HoD. Though challenging at first I am really pleased I made the switch as I can now be on leave at the same time as my children.

You will need to spend a couple of days observing in a school. I have already had three people in this year. E-mail your local schools but do it this half term if you are looking for a Sept start at college. Do not mention that you will come in for free to do this which is what one person told me as it makes you sound like a right t**t and the school will say no straight away. I always get my observers to see a couple of challenging classes as well as my business classes.