Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for users to discuss eBay, not for advertising eBay items. If you are a small business you can advertise here

Someone has bid and won my item from Italy although i put uk only! What do i do ?

(20 Posts)
Lilyloo Sun 24-Aug-08 17:00:17

Basically just before listing ended they asked if i would ship to Italy so i checked postage costs and asked if they paid them i would.
They paid paypal after winning item. Item less than £5.
Basically i have just packaged it all up and only just realised that there is a size restriction on 'small' parcels shipped internationally. Which i got p+p cost from.
Should i just mail explain and refund him ?
I think the postage costs otherwise are going to be extortionate and as the item is very little value i can't afford to cover extra costs!
Am i going to get neg feedback as i am new to selling ?

Lilyloo Sun 24-Aug-08 17:20:55

Also if i refund can i do second chance offer to next lower bid ?
How long should i wait to do that ?

FrannyandZooey Sun 24-Aug-08 17:32:32

if you are serious about selling you should send the item and cover the extra cost yourself - you did agree to do it, and the mistake is yours, not your buyer's
ebay doesn't allow you to rescind on the sale because you have made a mistake - you have a responsibility to send the item now it is sold, sorry

ProfYaffle Sun 24-Aug-08 17:36:05

I did exactly the same as you, basically had to pay the extra and send it. I did find a cheap courier though so I wasn't out of pocket.

What's the postage problem? The parcel's too small physically?

Lilyloo Sun 24-Aug-08 17:39:07

How do i stop people bidding from abroad in future ?
Also i am unsure of how to send it as i can only find mail up to 90 cm on the royal mail site ?
Thanks

ProfYaffle Sun 24-Aug-08 17:45:05

Are you using this to find your prices?

Lilyloo Sun 24-Aug-08 17:46:55

no it's over 90 cm ?