Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for users to discuss eBay, not for advertising eBay items. If you are a small business you can advertise here

Is it worth it?

(15 Posts)
Eastwickwitch Sat 08-Nov-14 10:28:19

I've never sold anything on ebay before but I've bought a few things.
DS has sold quite a lot of bike kit & has 100% feedback.

Usually I take old clothes to the Charity shop but I'm having a big wardrobe clear out & wonder if it's worth it.

No designer stuff, mostly Boden, White Suff & the like. Quite a few dresses.

Any experts out there that can advise?

Itscurtainsforyou Sat 08-Nov-14 10:37:00

Boden and white stuff usually sells well on eBay (I'm watching some myself smile)

Eastwickwitch Sat 08-Nov-14 10:40:59

Thanks curtains. Would you suggest a starting price of 99p (as DS advises) or £5 which is what I'd hope to get?
Sorry, for the silly questions I'm a total novice.

Itscurtainsforyou Sat 08-Nov-14 13:59:20

I would probably have a starting bid of £3-5 if in good condition.

Depending on the size, I shall look out for your sales wink

Eastwickwitch Sat 08-Nov-14 14:59:55

Thanks, I think I'll have a go.
Any tips to increase the chances of selling, or anything I should avoid?

nauticant Sat 08-Nov-14 18:40:46

Do your research about the delivery service you'll use. Hermes is priced very competitively although it messes up from time to time (my experience is about 2%) and when it does they do have a tendency to lie with their excuses. Even with this down side I do use them because it really saves money.

If you have a personal account you'll get 20 free listings per month. You also get the free option to schedule their starting times. Different people favour different ending days but one important thing is that if you're going to list as auctions and not as Buy-It-Nows you should aim for your auction to end at a convenient time of the day, say after 8pm.