Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for users to discuss eBay, not for advertising eBay items. If you are a small business you can advertise here

Is this out of order?

(19 Posts)
StranglyGiraffe Fri 21-Oct-11 23:13:21

I'm not that experienced with eBay.

I've been after an item for months, and i've finally found one locally. The starting bid is 0.99 (it's worth a LOT more) , there's only been one bid so far, and it's got nearly 3 days left.

Can i message the seller offering a decent price? Or is that really cheeky!? confused

savoycabbage Fri 21-Oct-11 23:21:30

A lot of people bid at the end, some in the last few seconds. As there is already a bid on the item they are not allowed to remove it and sell it to you. They would have to say it was broken or lost or similar to remove it from sale.

They might be allowed to add but it now as an option I can't remember now. I just ignore people who ask me to end auctions as it is a hassle and a risk. They might not buy it and then you have to relist. You should offer them an actual price if you are going to do it though. You never know.

blueshoes Fri 21-Oct-11 23:25:28

You can offer (it is not cheeky) but the seller may not accept. I have never ended an auction early with a Buy It Now.

As a seller, I can tell how many people are watching it. If it is a high number, I know that even though the bids are still low, there will be a frenzy at the end. I only get offers on items that are popular and I have refused and invariably got sold at auction for more than I was offered.

PotPourri Fri 21-Oct-11 23:30:31

I usually won't accept an offer. However the local thing might help. I once sold a buggy locally like that - saved on fees etc. And I have also bought things by buying off eBay.

Answer to your question - why not? Just go for it

ChunkyMonkeyMother Fri 21-Oct-11 23:35:26

Thing is - that's the point of ebay! People put stuff up for free listing under £1 and that's how much it goes for!