Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for users to discuss eBay, not for advertising eBay items. If you are a small business you can advertise here

Paypal reversed payment !

(18 Posts)
MyLittleWerewolf Thu 25-Aug-11 12:00:35

I am new to Ebay selling so not sure what has happened here. I sold a Baby Bjorn onEbay, recieved payment and posted recorded delivery the following day - I have a reciept of this. It cost me 77p more than my stated postage but I thought - as it was a high(ish) value item it was worth the extra. I did not charge them the extra, obv.
Next day I recieved the following feedback from the buyer;
'Item was just as described - Got in touch same day and posted next - PERFECT!'

Fine, I thought, but I have just received notice through Paypal that the 'payment I recieved has been reversed'.
Is this something the buyer has done delibrately or could it be an issue with their bank ? Should I have waited for the funds to clear ? It stated that it was an Instant Payment so I thought it safe to send.

I have sent Paypal an email but I can't figure out what has happened. Has anyone else had experience of this ?

fergoose Thu 25-Aug-11 12:06:47

it could be a problem with the bank/card

have you emailed the buyer asking them to pay you again

what are paypal asking for - a tracking number?

If you sent it to correct address with tracking you should be covered

maybe you would be better off ringing paypal direct

MyLittleWerewolf Thu 25-Aug-11 12:21:42

Paypal haven't given me much info - just that either the buyer or the buyer's bank have reversed the payment.
Not sure what to do - if they don't have the funds to cover it do I not get the money or am I protected by Paypal ? I'm not sure I should contact the seller while the dispute is ongoing should I?
Ugh. SO many questions, sorry. Just confused.

Pudden Thu 25-Aug-11 12:24:41