Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for users to discuss eBay, not for advertising eBay items. If you are a small business you can advertise here

How to pay for item that is collection only

(13 Posts)
Cannotthinkofaname Wed 03-Aug-11 14:40:28

I am new to ebay and this is the first item that I have won at auction and also collection only item.

I was wondering how I would be for the item? Would I pay by paypal or when I collect.

I would be very embarrassed paying on collection as it is only £3.52 for an expensive pushchair. So I will be sending dp to collect the item.

fergoose Wed 03-Aug-11 14:47:32

you are advised to use cash for collection items - if you are embarrassed you can always offer a bit more.

What a bargain - hope it is good smile

gallicgirl Wed 03-Aug-11 15:04:46

I used paypal in a similar situation. Not sure what happens about the fees if you pay cash on collection. I suspect it also means there's no complaint procedure if the item isn't as expected - but - I'm not experienced at ebay so could be wrong on that.

fergoose Wed 03-Aug-11 15:30:37

if you pay seller paypal they pay fees on the payment. The ebay final value and listing fees are separate.

For £3 odd it would be pretty mean to pay by paypal, as the seller will lose some of that money in fees.

Yes as a buyer you don't have protection paying cash, but you can refuse to buy and walk away if item is not as described.

Sellers should never accept paypal for collection items as buyer could pretend not to receive the item, claw back their money as there is no online proof of delivery, and keep the item too.

HairyJo Wed 03-Aug-11 15:33:32

Pay cash on collection, if they wanted more for the pushchair they would have started at a higher price.

I would be annoyed if I was the seller and you used paypal. If they are only getting £3.52 seems mean to make them pay fees on that

Cannotthinkofaname Wed 03-Aug-11 15:57:14