Talk

Advanced search

Wobbles

(7 Posts)
FennyBridges Fri 11-Oct-19 17:43:01

Hello. I am a recovered anorexic - as a teenager - and during my adult life I have tried to keep weight gain to a minimum but I would be considered 'slight' or 'slim', not skinny. ( BMI 20 on a heavier day.) It meant eating carefully and feeling fatigued a lot; I am a teacher so my days are active and full and i need to keep going!

About two years ago I started to restrict and go back into my old behaviours and I sought a counsellor. It's been really successful and I feel genuinely healthy for the first time in ages. I still get tired but it's sorted by a night's sleep like everyone else.

The thing is, when I look at my body it's not that I don't like it. It's that I feel big. My torso is wider and I have more flesh on me these days. It seems that my happiness means I eat regularly and I love it. I don't over eat. I eat mindfully. But I've been having wobbles and the only way I deal with it is to not think too deeply about it. I don't examine my body either. I am so grateful to feel healthy. But I feel uncomfortably large. My brain knows I'm not. BMI in the 22s.

I wondered if anyone could help with tips and tricks to sustain my healthy approach. I'm reluctant to see the counsellor again. I'd rather not get really upset about reasons for (very much in the past but learnt behaviours and habits) I'd like to help myself but knowing other people's experiences would help me do that.

Thank you in advance.

MousyArtist Mon 14-Oct-19 18:27:41

Hello. I think by what you’ve said you are doing brilliantly. As an anorexic myself i think your ability to seek out help and recognise when you’re bad is really good.