Talk

Advanced search

Anyone else into this Intuitive Eating?

(4 Posts)
codswallup Sat 16-Mar-19 14:16:38

I'm one of these people who has dieted on and off for a good 30 years now, tried nearly every diet going to then put the weight back on and a bit more on top. I've now had enough and have discovered Intuitive Eating. It's basically getting rid of the diet mentality you have and learning to listen to what YOUR body needs and tells you which can lead to loosing weight and becoming healthier to what YOUR body wants. Anyone else tried this and been successful?

Sweetbabycheezits Wed 27-Mar-19 18:34:38

Hi!! Don't know if you're still around...but I've been doing IE solidly for 2 years now (after many starts and stops over about 10 years). It's really working for me, and I have never been so carefree about food in my life!
The weight gain side was a real challenge...in the past, every time I gained, I went back to dieting. I was determined to persevere this time though, so I worked on body image and confidence first and foremost. I gained about a stone in the first year of IE, didn't go back to dieting, and have pretty much stayed at this weight. It isn't the weight I would have chosen years ago, but this is the most stable my weight has ever been.
Exercise is trickier. I spent my whole life exercising for weight loss, and I can't seem to untie those two things. I'm just recently doing so e bodyweight exercises and stretching, which feels good for now... I'm hoping to keep it up. I can probably never run again...that was really problematic for me when I was dieting.
Anyway...glad I found this thread! Good luck...I hope it's going well for you!

codswallup Sat 30-Mar-19 16:18:20