Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Drowning in paperwork

(6 Posts)
drowninginpaperwork Tue 22-May-18 01:37:18

I work as a qualified nurse in a private care home for disabled adults. I’ve been there for a few months now and it’s a nice place with nice people working alongside me. I’ve been nursing for almost 30 years now.

However, I am very, very stressed sad

The work is busy, which I like, but I am completely overwhelmed with the amounts of paperwork my employers expect us to complete. It is just incredible and around 70% is totally pointless tick box stuff. There is also endless duplication of info and, on average, I’ll be writing the same piece of info in around six different places.

They also keep changing the paperwork, so I’m sometimes writing on a form that I later find is obsolete then I have to then find the right form and do it all again. There are forms to fill in to say you’ve filled a form in.

There is zero use of technology to help us - other than the photocopier to produce these blasted forms.

I understand the value of accurate documentation, but this is ridiculous. Six pages to fill in for a simple wound assessment! Everything, a repetitive and confusing array of boxes to tick where a simple description with a diagram would suffice. It’s taking away our professional judgment and reducing the nurses to mindless automatons.

I’m having nightmares prior to doing my shifts and I only have time for a 30 minute break in 13 hours. I’m just exhausted trying to get everything done on time because peg feeds and drug rounds can’t be delayed or postponed of course.

Is this normal in other places? My previous employer had a computerised notes system and it used to take minutes to input info.