Talk

Advanced search

Husband left me. Advise please

(7 Posts)
PhonixK Sat 07-Apr-18 10:22:41

Hiya I don't know where to start. I'm new to all this so don't know abbreviations so hang in there please.

My husband left me 4 weeks ago. He's totally changed in the past few months. Snapping at kids easily and stressing out quickly. He has no patience with anything and struggles to concentrate on anything. He's also been finding it hard to sleep.

His job took him away April last year for 6 months and when he came home he was the man that I describe above. In the 5 months he's been home he's had to go away for roughly 8 weeks but it's been broken up across them months.

Things haven't been great, we've been arguing and gone through a rough patch and everything was sorted or so I thought.

4 weeks ago (a day before he's away again for 2 weeks) he tells me it's completely over and that when he comes back he will move out (he's in the military so can get a room with work). I was heartbroken completely devastated. The kids (4,6 and 12) kept saying they were so excited for daddy coming home and I would just want to cry for them.

I suppose I was hopeful that he would have time to himself in the 2 weeks and sort his head and realise what he was throwing away. No such luck though. He came home and told the kids he had to sleep at work but he would see them all the time.

The kids are very close to him so I didn't want to say well no you can't see them everyday. So I've let him get on with it and tried a few times to talk to him but he just storms out and tells me I'm stressing him out and he hates being here.

I keep my mouth shut now. I've asked if counselling will help, he doesn't want to try because he's happy now so knows he's made the right choice even if it doesn't suit me.

I've cried, I've fought, I've been angry, I've been happy.