Talk

Advanced search

I thought a perk of having children is they can make you a cup of tea

(18 Posts)
Truckrelented Sat 16-Jul-11 09:31:49

Now my daughter has just started having an occasional cup of tea.

I've no idea if this breaks some MN code (fruit shoots, and Greggs) and I don't really care.

But my Dad used to get us to make his tea, my daughter says I make the best tea in the world, so I always end up making it.

Now I'm not very good at intuition etc. but I reckon I'm being manipulated.
I think she'll go far.

RuthChan Sat 16-Jul-11 20:52:36

Yes, I'm with you on that one.
I spent my childhood making cups of tea and coffee for my parents too, despite never drinking the stuff myself.
I think she should be making them for you rather than the other way round.
Her manipulation skills are obviously developing well!! grin

Truckrelented Sat 16-Jul-11 21:04:14

Ah, but I make a nicer cup of tea apparently.

And is always followed by:

'And as you're in the kitchen can you bring the biscuits in please?'

I'm very proud of her.

surfandturf Sat 16-Jul-11 21:07:26

I used to make my parents brews all the time - can't wait till my DC's are old enough to boil the kettle grin

Truckrelented Sat 16-Jul-11 21:09:32

I'm expecting for my daughter to quote me a health and safety guideline that stops her from making the tea.

bigbuttons Sat 16-Jul-11 21:09:42

My 6 all drink tea and many of them make a really decent cuppa. My 5 year old is just starting to make tea, she's really rather good! I actually told them today that I'd only had them so that i'd got someone to make me teawink

GingerbreadDad Sat 16-Jul-11 21:13:07

I am shocked and horrified that you allow your children to handle hot water.......A cold can of beer that's safe wink

TrillianAstra Sat 16-Jul-11 21:14:51

I make a nicer cup of tea apparently.

She won't get any better at making tea if she doesn't practise!

Truckrelented Sat 16-Jul-11 21:27:01