Talk

Advanced search

Which bike do I need now?

(7 Posts)
Enwi Sat 17-Mar-18 11:48:17

Hi everyone,
I’m still pretty new to cycling but I’m looking for some advice. I bought my first road bike in August 2017 and absolutely loved it. I had the trek lexa 3, and had a lovely summer doing a few longer rides (no longer than 20 miles) and some commuting. I wasn’t very confident on it and fell off more than I’d like to admit, but I didn’t mind and it was worth it just having a road bike.
In September 2017 I fell pregnant after quite a while of trying. As soon as i discovered I was pregnant I was terrified of getting on my bike and causing things to go wrong. I made the decision to sell the bike, and get something that I was more confident riding whilst I was pregnant. The problem is I have absolutely no idea what to go for. I’m expecting baby soon, and would ideally like to cycle with them from as soon as possible so I need something I’m going to be relatively confident on. I also really enjoy cycling with my family who have road bikes, so whilst I’m sure they will slow down for me it has to be at least a reasonable speed without shed loads of effort.
I’m at a total loss as to which bike to get, as I just don’t feel like anything will compare having owned a road bike, but as I say I’m a total novice so happy to be corrected.

To summarise I want a bike that is:
Capable of keeping up to a slow road bike user
reasonably easy to ride
able to attach a child seat on the back

Please tell me this exists? I’d be so grateful for any advice!

OP’s posts: |
Piffpaffpoff Sat 17-Mar-18 11:55:27

I think first of all you need to identify what it was about the road bike made you less confident? I’ve steered away from then as I didn’t like the super skinny tyres. Did you like the drop handlebars?