Talk

Advanced search

Getting into cycling

(8 Posts)
Scarftown Wed 01-Feb-17 15:03:47

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

LittleBoat Wed 01-Feb-17 15:04:58

Sorry, no advice to give, but hoping to receive some too. I have just started cycling to work.

Mumski45 Thu 02-Feb-17 16:17:16

Hi Scarftown and Littleboat, i have been cycling for about 3-4 years now and I love it.

My tips would be as follows;
Clothing
Most of all you will need a good pair of padded trousers and/or shorts for when the weather gets warmer. This will be important when you start to increase your mileage to get used to longer rides. I would also recommend a base layer, a Jersey and a waterproof jacket if you intend going out in all weather. You don't need to spend a fortune - watch out for the cycling ranges coming it to Lidl and Aldi as these are great value. At the moment you will need warm gloves which are still flexible enough to allow you to brake and change gear easily as the wind chill factor on a bike makes you feel colder than it actually is depending on your effort level.
You can cycle in trainers but if you are training for a long ride I would recommend you look at cycling specific shoes. You don't have to use cleats if you don't want to but a hard soled cycling shoe will help you be more efficient with your pedalling.

Road Safety
If you can stick to quiet roads and cycle paths until you get used to cycling in traffic. Always try to put yourself where you can be seen even if this is in front of traffic momentarily (e.g. at traffic lights). Avoid stopping or undertaking on the left particularly of large vehicles as they may not see you. If you can move faster than the traffic overtake on the right if there is space, if not wait in line.
There are more safety tips here

Personal Safety