Talk

Advanced search

Calling fionagib

(15 Posts)
pinkroses Sat 12-Feb-05 16:14:01

Hi.

Can I ask.....how do you sort your ideas for books into sense?? Where do your ideas come from.....and where can I get a copy of one of your books????

I am a freelance writer trying to write my first novel. I have loads of ideas, but seem to have gotten struck with writers block!!! I thought if I spoke to a writer, maybe it would inspire me again.

I'll give you my email...so you can still keep your privacy (daisyduck772004@yahoo.co.uk)

Hope to hear from you soon xx

fionagib Sat 12-Feb-05 17:11:27

Hi there pinkroses

They just sort of come from maybe one tiny idea and grow as I start working on the book. My last book (Wonderboy) started with my son's obsession with mazes. I wanted to write about a quirky kid who found it hard to fit and and dragged his poor mother round mazes all the time. The idea was to explore a very close but sometimes infuriating mother/son relationship, and also I wanted to write about moving from city to country, as we did.

I think the more you write, the more ideas start to come. You just have to start getting words down even if you end up going back to the earier sections and completely re-writing them.

Personally I find it easier to start with a theme or situation I'm familiar with, like motherhood, or moving house, or child modelling (my sons did a bit of work as babies).

My books are avail on amazon, key in Babyface or Wonderboy. Have a non fiction book called The Fish Finger Years out in June & a third novel Lucky Girl out in Nov (sorry to sound like an advert here!!)

What kind of stuff do you want to write?

Cod Sat 12-Feb-05 17:16:54

Message withdrawn

fionagib Sat 12-Feb-05 17:34:30

wonderboy's a grown up book (much to my kids' disgust!)

off the fags for a few weeks thanks cod
nicotine lozenge permanently in gob tho

unicorn Sat 12-Feb-05 18:33:56

Can I just say well done to you fg, you are certainly on a roll!