Talk

Advanced search

I would like to learn about art

(24 Posts)
foxtong Sat 03-Aug-19 21:41:04

Ideally, I'd like to do a history of art degree....but that's not going to happen any time soon. So how else do I learn about history of art? Can anyone recommend any courses/books? Or a list of works of art I should see?

SeaSidePebbles Sat 03-Aug-19 21:47:05

Gosh, it’s such a vast subject! I studied it for 4 years! I wouldn’t know what to tell you, where to start.
Sorry, that’s not very helpful, I realise. Do you have a specific thing in mind?

timeforakinderworld Sat 03-Aug-19 21:50:58

How about starting with Sister Wendy's Story of Painting on YouTube?
youtu.be/QBv0HezlOBw

foxtong Sat 03-Aug-19 21:52:35

I know it's pretty large.....!! I'm reading a book by Laura Cumming at the minute who is an art critic for the observer and it has sort of opened my eyes to what a huge subject it is and how little I know.....Dutch masters like Vermeer and Rembrandt seem like an interesting starting point!

custardlover Sat 03-Aug-19 21:53:16

Do a guided tour at a gallery? I recently did a tour from this company at the National - around an hour and it was brilliant - funny, interesting and entertaining: https://arttoursbeyondthepalette.co.uk

SeaSidePebbles Sat 03-Aug-19 22:00:13

Vermeer and Rembrandt deserve a trip to the Rijk museum smile They don’t have much Vermeer (2 or 3), but plenty of Rembrandt smile The audio guides are really good too.

TemporaryPermanent Sat 03-Aug-19 22:07:18

I second tours of galleries, particularly tours of the permanent collection as that will be cheaper than big exhibitions.

TemporaryPermanent Sat 03-Aug-19 22:08:06

Have you got any local galleries? They might have a lot of free events you could go to?

Lweji Sat 03-Aug-19 22:13:06

Your local library is likely to have books you can use to get an idea of what to look for.