Financial mess

(11 Posts)
Botanygeek78 Sun 03-Nov-19 18:13:30

Longtime lurker, first time poster.
I am in such a financial mess and I don't know how to get out of it.
Until two years ago I worked as an unqualified teacher in a FE College. I didn't earn much but supplemented my income with private tuition. I left my job to study for a PGCE, in a shortage subject so I was awarded a bursary to pay fees and living costs. The death of my dad led to me have a "breakdown" and I dropped out of the course. The university said that I had done enough of the course to have to pay the majority of fees but the bursary stopped and I was left owing £6000. My breakdown meant I was not able to go back into work and I signed on for Universal Credit.

I moved in with my brother and he has been very understanding about rent etc. My mental health issues, where I couldn't leave the house, meant I missed a UC appointment and my benefits have been sanctioned meaning I now receive just over £8 per month. I had a small amount of savings which I've used to pay for my car and phone etc but these have now run out. I have sold my car and can't afford to replace it (or pay for insurance, tax etc) so I am stuck regarding my private students . Last week I didn't even have the bus fare to go and have my eyes tested. My brother doesn't know the full extent of my financial mess - he's very cautious with money and he wouldn't understand.

I can't pay the money that I owe the university and have some credit card debt plus a "payday" loan but have not made a payment on these for several months. I live in fear of a bailiff's visit - I have no assets but know that it is possible that they could take goods belonging to my brother if I couldn't show they belong to him. I am now 59 years old and am struggling to see past the end of the year.

OP’s posts: |
NotSuchASmugMarriedNow1 Sun 03-Nov-19 18:19:19

At 59 you are allowed to access your pension. You could get some money from there.