Talk

Advanced search

Budget cooking / baking ideas

(8 Posts)
Home77 Sun 31-Mar-19 13:15:32

I'm planning on saving money and also doing some baking / cooking. We're veggie, family of 4, two teen boys, me and DH. Currently spending too much - online shopping deliveries etc. Going to try some of the following-

Freezing stuff batch cooked
Baking- e.g. banana bread and flapjacks to add to lunches / snacks
Possibly buying frozen standard things from somewhere like Iceland and veg from the stall in town.

Any ideas welcome, or going in if doing the same. I'm a novice cook (but quite like it) and have used the Ministry of Food Jamie Oliver cookbook so far, just adding some quorn instead of meat (not keen on JO tbh but book seems helpful...)

One of my DCs likes quiche, the Higgidy one, but it is expensive so maybe going to try baking one next...

OP’s posts: |
maxelly Mon 01-Apr-19 11:56:52

Ooh good call. As you are a veggie family I would try and get into the wonderful world of dried and canned beans, lentils and pulses. Great nutritious sources of protein, much cheaper than quorn or other meat substitutes, especially if you have the storage space and cashflow to buy in bulk. I would look up some simple recipes for things like:

-Root veg stew bulked out with lentils
-Bean burgers
-Chickpea curry
-Daal
-Three bean chilli
-Tuscan bean soup
-Minestrone
-Lentil bolognese
-Lentil shepherds pie

All easy-ish to cook, can be scaled up so you can make a big batch and then freeze extra portions which can then be used for a lazy dinner when you CBA to cook or for a lean week at the end of the month, or if you freeze individual portions it can be like a 'ready meal' which someone can have as a quick dinner if they are out for some reason when the rest of the family are eating or don't like whatever the family are having.