Talk

Advanced search

Help me set a food budget/meal plan please!!!

(24 Posts)
StormInATeaCup2 Tue 13-Feb-18 17:47:00

Trying to get on top of finances once for all and stop living hand to mouth. Have tried before and really got into it but have got out the habit blush. Would really like to get my food bill as low as possible....some details,

Just me and DD 8
Don't need to do lunches for either of us.
I don't really eat breakfast.
Like to eat healthy ish.
Don't want all meals to be carb based if poss (I know that makes them cheaper confused)
I'm a reasonable cook and can cook from scratch
Very time poor so slow cooker stuff, stuff that can be batch cooked is ideal.
Need to do mid morning snack for DD and snacks after school before sports club most evenings (healthy).
Have an Aldi 5 miles away, Iceland 1 mile away, Asda 5 miles away.
Have local pound shop for cleaning/household products etc.

Please throw ideas at me!! Would be appreciated!

eyeoresancerre Tue 13-Feb-18 17:54:24

I'm watching with interest as on a budget in similar circumstances. I've been following a meal prep thing and trying to do that so each night we just get stuff out the fridge or freezer and reheat. When it works it's great but I'm not sure I'm saving as much as I could be. My monthly budget for food is about £250.
I do it monthly as some weeks I bulk buy eg frozen salmon fillets but they would do for 4 meals over the month.

StormInATeaCup2 Tue 13-Feb-18 17:58:17

Wow £250 @eyeoresancerre!! I've put in my budget calculator thing £120 per month, but not sure it that's stretching things too far!!!

RedPandaMama Tue 13-Feb-18 18:08:40

Me, DP and 6mo DAD manage on £35 a week, including some sort of takeaway (KFC or similar). We shop in LIDL.

Batch cook - make a curry or pasta bake and it lasts us 2 nights (4 meals).