Advanced search

budget app [shock]

(37 Posts)
MissyRain Sun 30-Dec-12 18:47:26


Its soon a new year and a new budget so i downloaded an app and put the figures in.

Im shocked that our mortage is 29.4% of our income/out goings and food is 30%.

So family of 4 including baby and house stuff, food, cleaning everything i have budgeted £70 per week.

Does this sound right to you?

PearlyWhites Tue 22-Jan-13 16:00:44

Missy do you know you can claim child tax credits for up to 70 percent of childcare if only one of works if either one of you is in receipt of dla

LadyMedea Thu 10-Jan-13 21:41:31

Just wanted to pop in and say I think you and your family and doing so well to try and work within such a limited budget. You should be very proud of yourselves.

Do make sure you are getting all the benefits you are entitled to. That's got to be the first step.

If your DH is unable to work his hours due to ill health and it looks like its going to be a long term situation it is often 'reasonable' for an employer to reduce them unfortunately even if he is covered under disability discrimination. I would still recommend seeking advice to make sure his employer is being as reasonable as they are meant to be as they are expected to be very flexible.

GrrrArghZzzzYaayforall8nights Mon 31-Dec-12 13:21:26

A person can only cut so much, it might be more helpful to think of ways to earn money even a bit here and a bob there can do wonders for a budget. But as things stand, the percentages you give sound about average.

ShotgunNotDoingThePans Mon 31-Dec-12 12:51:21

Definitely get some employment advice. Sorry for your situation.

MissyRain Mon 31-Dec-12 11:12:49

Thank you for the links i will take a look.

I will look into the ca.

He has MD and the sickness if for colds migrains and viral infections. The children pick illness up and bring home to husband. it takes longer for him to get better. He has been to OHT and has letters from dr saying he is more likly to pick illness up and for it to last longer but they give him writeb warning and reduced his work hours so he could get better. Heis not going to get better.

ShotgunNotDoingThePans Mon 31-Dec-12 10:58:15

Turn2Us have an online bens calculator - or their website has a number you can call to speak to a real person.
Definitely a good idea to look into your entitlements.

Some basic info on disability discrimination here - but you'd get a fuller picture by getting an appointment at CAB.
I'm sure your DH shouldn't be penalised at work because of his condition.

Vagaceratops Mon 31-Dec-12 10:38:12

Are you entitled to claim Carers Allowance for your DH?

Fluffycloudland77 Mon 31-Dec-12 10:29:48

Gloop is 100g bar of soap grated and mixed with 250g soda crystals and mixed with hot water. Then when it cools it sets and ou use one cap eg deodorant can cap per wash.

The full recipe is on money saving experts forum, there's a bit more to it than I can remember. It says to use borax but I didn't have any and you can only buy borax substitute now.

TheSecondComing Mon 31-Dec-12 00:26:18

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Carrie37 Sun 30-Dec-12 22:55:42

Missyrain if your DH is disabled he may well come under disability discrimination act (DDA) ie. his work cannot legally cut his hours because of time off ill. It doesn't just cover disabilities it covers long term illnesses like depression, psorasis arthritis etc etc. Go to Citizens advice and find out your rights. Also get them to do a benefits check. Can you change mortgage to interest only on short term basis?

It sounds like you need advice. I couldn't do it on that its very tight.

MissyRain Sun 30-Dec-12 21:43:37

so what is laundry guoop?

MissyRain Sun 30-Dec-12 21:41:35

Its only for 11 months so i think i can do it. We have family that can help if we need it.

MissyRain Sun 30-Dec-12 21:36:16

I will call tax cridets to find out about increase or not.

oven is covered but i would not bother with kettle and just boil water on hob.

MissyRain Sun 30-Dec-12 21:34:18

Im not sure what else i can do to save money. We dont smoke brink go out or do anything.

I meal plan and there is no waste.

The dd are all the cheapest i can get

we have fixed mortage at low rate

We have no credit cards or debt.

I will look into selling things on ebay in Jan.

I will buy kids clothes off ebay

Then im lost sad

Alibabaandthe40nappies Sun 30-Dec-12 21:27:45

Is there an excess on your insurance policy? Would it cover things like your oven or kettle?

If his hours have been cut do you get any increase to your benefits?

MissyRain Sun 30-Dec-12 21:26:57

Tax crdits work on the end of year tax so will not go up till april. If we call them now they will stop the money untill they sort out the new payment upto 14 weeks.

So i have not told them yet about the change but we will as soon as they open tomoro or Thursday.

MissyRain Sun 30-Dec-12 21:22:43

Everything is insured so no as i would claim on that.

It would only be untill November till i could get a job or dh work hours are increased.

Its complicated. In the £1000 is wtc ctc dla and cb and a few pennies from working. I dont work but my dh is disabled. We cant afford childcare cost but when baby is 2 can get 15 hours paid for. Dh cant look after children on his own and im bf and dh work has cut his hours due to time off sick sad

Alibabaandthe40nappies Sun 30-Dec-12 20:57:36

Would that also have to cover replacing or fixing broken household items?

Fluffycloudland77 Sun 30-Dec-12 20:56:13

Oh, clothes too.


Alibabaandthe40nappies Sun 30-Dec-12 20:49:20

I think that sounds incredibly tight. Surely you are entitled to some benefits?

MissyRain Sun 30-Dec-12 20:48:12

£70 includes shoes school clothes and everything.

Fluffycloudland77 Sun 30-Dec-12 20:15:50

Yep seems ok, shop in aldi or lidl and meal plan.

We spend £35 on our food and £5 for the cat.

Cleaning materials are astonish products in the pound shop or home bargains applied using e cloths bought in tk maxx. Laundry gloop washes most things and alur wool wash for delicates from home bargains.

TheSecondComing Sun 30-Dec-12 20:12:29

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

wheredidiputchristmas Sun 30-Dec-12 20:10:01

Yes £70 per week for shopping is doable.

We are a family of 5 dc are 9,5 and 3 I spend between £70 and £100.

I menu plan and check whats on offer in Asda.

nextphase Sun 30-Dec-12 20:09:47

Hang on, has that £70 got to cover kids shoes, birthday presents etc as well? That will be very tight.

Our biggest costs are childcare, then mortgage, then bills, then food.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now